Chef and Cook in 99 Nights in the Forest: Recipes, the Chef's Station, and Seasoning

The Chef costs 150 Diamonds and the Cook costs 40. This page separates them: the Chef's Station blueprint and its materials, the three level unlocks, every Chef recipe and its real ingredients, what Seasoning does, and where the sources cannot agree.

Updated 2026-10-04

Chef and Cook in 99 Nights in the Forest

Two classes in this game sell you the same promise: food that does more than stop your hunger bar emptying. One charges 40 Diamonds and works through a pot that already exists. The other charges 150 Diamonds and brings its own station. They share a family, they share a mechanic, and almost every guide on the internet folds them into one subsection.

This page separates them, prices them honestly, and walks the whole food chain — raw meat, the campfire, the Crock Pot, the Chef's Station, and the six recipes that come off it.

Last verified: 2026-10-04.

Quick Answer

Chef150 Diamonds
Cook40 Diamonds
Chef starting items1× Chef's Station Blueprint, 1× Recipe Book
Cook starting item1× Seasoning
Chef's signatureA station of its own, plus recipes nobody else can cook
Cook's signatureEvery cooked dish restores more hunger, permanently, from level 1
Both buy youFood that scales with the run instead of food that only fills a bar
Both fail atSolo play. Every current source says so in as many words
Best withHunter, Farmer, Fisherman — all three exist to hand you ingredients

If you own only one of them and you play alone, you probably own the wrong one. The Cook line is the cheaper, quieter, single-player-friendly half; the Chef is a four-player decision dressed up as a class.

The Two Classes Are One System, Split in Two

The food economy in this game has three tiers of cooking, and the two classes sit on different rungs:

  1. The campfire — cooks raw meat into cooked meat, nothing more. Every run has one.
  2. The Crock Pot — a bench item (Tier 3 on the Crafting Bench) that turns three ingredients into a Stew. The Cook class makes this station faster and occasionally luckier.
  3. The Chef's Station — a separate, class-locked station that produces dishes with timed buffs. Only the Chef can build it or cook from it.

That third rung is the whole reason the Chef exists. The Cook improves tier two. The Chef is tier three.

The important consequence: the Cook does not remove the need for the Chef, and the Chef does not replace the Crock Pot so much as outrank it. One source puts it plainly — the Chef's Station cooks faster than the Crock Pot, which means a Chef running their own station has good reasons to never build a pot at all.

Cook: 40 Diamonds, and What Forty Actually Buys

The Cook is one of the oldest classes in the game — one source notes it was among the first batch added in the Classes Update, which is why so many beginner guides mention it without ever explaining it.

Cost40 Diamonds
Starting item1× Seasoning
Level 1Seasoned food restores more hunger
Level 2Crock Pots cook 20% faster
Level 325% chance to produce a Hearty Stew
Level 2 requirement200 meat cooked, 50 stews cooked
Level 3 requirement400 meat cooked, 200 stews cooked
DifficultyBeginner to intermediate
TypeSupport / food utility

The perks, one at a time

Level 1 — Seasoned food restores more hunger. This is the only perk that fires in solo play, and it is the reason the class is worth 40 at all. Seasoning is a starter item, so you own this on day one with zero grinding. The effect is qualitative: seasoned dishes fill more of the hunger bar than the unseasoned version of the same dish. No source gives a percentage, which we flag below.

Level 2 — Crock Pots cook 20% faster. In raw numbers, the Crock Pot's cycle goes from about 10 seconds down to 8. Be honest about what that is worth: every source that discusses it reaches the same conclusion, which is that food output is bottlenecked by how many ingredients you own, not by how fast the pot runs. The perk is a convenience. It becomes noticeable only when you run several pots side by side or cook in bulk for a four-person camp.

Level 3 — 25% chance of a Hearty Stew. Cooking an ordinary Stew has a one-in-four chance of producing a Hearty Stew instead, which heals about 15 health. That is a small heal, and the sources are blunt about it: decent, not useful, except in Hard Mode where free healing is scarce enough that 15 HP genuinely matters.

How the Cook levels

Two mechanics that are not obvious:

  • An auto-cooking setup still counts, provided the Cook personally drops the ingredients in. You build the loop, it runs, but your hand has to go in the pot at least once per cycle.
  • Cooking raw meat at the campfire first speeds up the counter. The "meat cooked" track is fed by fire-cooked meat, so pre-cooking raw drops at the fire is the shortcut.

The requirements are long. One source calls the Cook one of the slower classes to level, and lists the third tier as genuinely hard to finish inside a normal run.

The Chef's Station: Blueprint, Materials, Prerequisites

The Chef does not spawn holding a built station. They spawn holding a blueprint and a recipe book, and the station is a construction project with gates on it.

ItemChef's Station Blueprint
Rarity3 stars
RankedA tier
Price listed60 Diamonds
Class gateChef only
Camp gateBase Camp Level 2
Run gateSurvive 15 nights
Materials25 Wood, 15 Stone, 5 Rope, 1 Crude Tools, 1 functional Campfire nearby
Build time2.5 minutes, once the materials are in
Blueprint categoryCrafting Blueprint — places a crafting station at your Campfire
Main advantage+15% food restoration, buffed dishes, faster than a Crock Pot, several dishes at once, lower raw-food poisoning risk
Main weaknessExpensive to set up, destroyable in a night raid, useless in a fight

Two things in that table deserve attention.

The 60 versus the 150. The blueprint carries a separate listed price of 60 Diamonds, and the class costs 150. Whether that 60 is a real purchase, a bench-tier cost, or a legacy number the site never updated is not stated anywhere we can find — treated as an open question below.

The three gates. The station is not simply "unlock Chef and build it." It also wants Base Camp Level 2 and survived 15 nights. If you are building on day 3, you cannot place it yet, and no source explains what happens to a Chef who reaches level 3 before night 15 — the recipe book presumably unlocks the knowledge, but the station itself stays unavailable.

Where it goes

The station must sit near a working campfire, which is the same constraint most base furniture obeys. One community trick is worth stealing: embed the Chef's Station halfway into the front wall of a Wood Rain Storage, seal the opening with a log wall or similar, and fill the storage with ingredients. Items fall into the station and it stacks finished meals. Manually taking the finished dishes out speeds the process up.

That is the closest this game gets to a passive kitchen, and it is the single most useful Chef tip in circulation.

Chef: 150 Diamonds and Three Unlocks

Cost150 Diamonds
Starting items1× Chef's Station Blueprint, 1× Recipe Book
Level 1New unique recipes with large bonuses; all cooked items seasoned
Level 2Unlocks a new recipe
Level 3Unlocks a new recipe
Level 2 requirement200 food cooked, 50 special dishes cooked
Level 3 requirement400 food cooked, 100 special dishes cooked
AddedListed among the five classes from the 27 June 2025 update
Best withHunter, Farmer, Fisherman

Level 2 is the Carrot Cake. Level 3 is the Jar o' Jelly. Those are the two named unlocks, and both are healing dishes — which is the honest shape of the class: two of its three levels buy you food that patches you up rather than food that feeds you.

The upgrade loop has a shortcut the community uses for every cooking class: cook any meat at the campfire before you cook it on the Chef's Station. The "food cooked" counter is fed the same way for both stations.

Every Chef Recipe, Ingredient by Ingredient

Six dishes are attributed to the Chef across the sources. Four are available from level 1; the other two arrive at levels 2 and 3.

DishIngredientsUnlockedEffect
Seafood ChowderFish + Any + AnyLevel 1Restores about 140 hunger
Steak DinnerSteak + Any + AnyLevel 1Restores about 150 hunger
Pumpkin SoupPumpkin + Any + AnyLevel 1Keeps you warm for about 2 minutes
BBQ RibsRibs + Any + AnyLevel 1Restores hunger, heals some health
Carrot CakeCake + Carrot + CarrotLevel 2Night vision ~9 minutes, plus a small heal
Jar o' JellyJellyfish + Any + AnyLevel 3Full heal, plus ~5 minutes of speed

Read the "Any + Any" column honestly. It means two free slots in a three-slot dish, so the class is not as ingredient-starved as the fixed items suggest — Steak Dinner, for instance, costs you one Steak and two things you were eating anyway.

Pumpkin Soup is the conditional one. Its warm effect only means anything while the Snow Biome is active. In a run that never enters the cold, that dish is a Steak Dinner with worse flavour.

The three carryable heals. Carrot Cake, BBQ Ribs and Jar o' Jelly can all be eaten to heal yourself, and the wiki's advice is to hold them — eat one when you are in danger, not when you are merely hungry. Jar o' Jelly in particular is flagged as slow to make, so it is a stock item, not a snack.

The other recipe list

A second list is published for the Chef's Station, and it shares nothing with the table above — not a single dish, not an ingredient count. See the disagreement section.

Passive Seasoning, and Who It Actually Applies To

Seasoning is the thread running through both classes.

  • The Cook spawns with 1× Seasoning.
  • The Chef's level-1 perk states that all cooked items are seasoned.

Seasoned food restores more hunger than the unseasoned version, and the bonus applies in solo play as well as team play. That is the one claim in this whole system that every source makes without qualification.

The practical read: the Cook's seasoning is a replaceable consumable-starter, the Chef's is a permanent class property. If you lose your single seasoning jar as a Cook, you have to re-buy or re-find one. As a Chef, every dish leaving the station is seasoned whether or not you had anything in your sack.

Raw Meat, the Campfire, and the Pot Hierarchy

Before either class matters, the base rule:

  • Raw Morsel, raw Steak and raw Rib damage you. All three hurt when eaten straight from a kill. Cooking them at a campfire removes the damage and roughly doubles their hunger value.
  • The campfire is the only cooker you start with. See Campfire for the fuel costs that keep it lit.
  • The Crock Pot needs Tier 3 on the bench and costs 15 Wood and 10 Scrap. It rejects berries and peppers.
  • Three of anything goes in. Three carrots in a Crock Pot is cited as the cheapest, easiest Stew in the game. A Stew made with meat is not vegetarian.
  • Stews equip to your toolbar, so they ride along without eating your sack slots.

There is a shortcut that bypasses the campfire entirely, and several classes and weapons lean on it: animals killed by fire drop cooked meat. The Fire Bandit class, the Flamethrower, the Infernal Crossbow and the Infernal Sword all produce cooked drops, and a weapon with an auto-cook perk cooks anything you drop. The Infernal Sack also cooks raw food held inside it.

If you are playing a fire class, the Cook's raw-meat-counted progress is easy to grind for free.

Where the Ingredients Come From

A Chef is only as good as their supply run, and each dish maps onto a different farm.

IngredientWhere it comes fromRough hunger
CarrotEverywhere on the map, Farm Plots, grocery storeLow
CornFarm Plots onlyLow
PumpkinFarm PlotsHigh
BerryAround the map and berry seeds — does not regrow on its ownLow
AppleThe grocery store, and apple treesLow
ChiliAround the map and chili seeds; short speed boost—
CakeAround the map, clinic structures, Farm Plots, update parties; also heals 15 HPLow
MorselBunny, Wolf, Alpha Wolf, BearLow raw, double cooked
SteakWolf, Alpha Wolf, Bear, Horse, Polar Bear, Mammoth, HellephantLow raw, double cooked
RibBear, Polar Bear, Mammoth, HellephantLow raw, double cooked
FishPonds, with a rod—
JellyfishNot stated by any source we found—

The pattern worth noticing: the expensive dishes are limited by kills, not by farms. Fish and Jellyfish come from ponds and jellyfish with no reliable farm behind them, and Pumpkin and Cake can be brute-forced out of Farm Plots. If you want a steady Jar o' Jelly supply, somebody is going to be fishing.

The Hunter supplies Steak, a rod and a pond supply Fish, and rows of Farm Plots supply the rest. This is exactly why every source recommends those companions.

Team Play, Solo Play, and the Day-60 Wall

In a team. The Chef becomes the camp's kitchen. The correct division of labour is that teammates drop ingredients near the station and never cook themselves, because the Chef converts them more efficiently. The Chef should be cooking for the group, not for themselves.

In solo play. Both classes are weak, and for the same reason: nearly every perk in the kit scales with a group or with a station you have to keep alive.

After Day 60 in Hard Mode, the arithmetic changes sharply. At the 60% Corruption threshold most stored food rots in about 90 seconds, even in your sack or hotbar, and cooking does not save it. Map-spawned food never rots. That means stockpiling and cooking lines stop paying off at the same moment the two classes get strongest on paper — see Hard Mode for the full threshold table. Foraging beats kitchens there, which is the opposite of what the Chef's upgrade list promises.

Building a Timeline Around the Kitchen

  • Day 1–3. Eat carrots and berries. Cook raw meat at the fire. Do not worry about either class.
  • Day 4–8. Build the Crock Pot at bench Tier 3 if you bought the Cook. Start cooking Stews in bulk; they are the first food that scales.
  • Day 8–15. Survive 15 nights. If you are a Chef, this is when the Base Camp Level 2 and night-15 gate on the Chef's Station can be satisfied. Build it behind a wall.
  • Night 10 at the latest. One source says the Chef's Station should exist by then, with an "advanced station" upgrade around night 30.
  • Level 2 and 3. Carrot Cake and Jar o' Jelly arrive, and with them the first genuinely strong healing food in the game.
  • Day 60+. If Hard Mode is on, expect the kitchen to stop mattering.

Where Sources Disagree

1. Two completely different recipe lists. One source publishes the six-dish table above (Seafood Chowder, Steak Dinner, Pumpkin Soup, BBQ Ribs, Carrot Cake, Jar o' Jelly). Another publishes four different dishes for the same station — Forest Stew (meat ×2, vegetables ×3, water ×1, +40 HP and +10% damage resistance for 2 nights), Hunter's Rations (grains ×2, preserved meat ×1, +25 HP and +15% speed for 1 night), Energizing Brew (herbs ×3, fruits ×2, water ×1, +30 stamina and +5% critical chance for 2 nights), and Survival Feast (meat ×3, vegetables ×3, grains ×2, herbs ×2, +60 HP and +15% to all stats for 3 nights, gated on Chef level 10). The ingredient count differs — four items against three — and not one is shared. We list both rather than pick.

2. Carrot Cake's heal. One source says 10 HP. Another says 40. A third does not state a number at all and only says it heals. We cannot resolve this; the 10 figure appears in the recipe table, the 40 in the consumable list.

3. What the Cook actually spawns with. Three sources say 1× Seasoning and nothing else. One source covering the "Chef" in detail lists the starting kit as Chef's Station Blueprint, Recipe Book and Seasoning, and prices the whole class at 40 Diamonds. Either that page means the Cook and mislabels it, or Chef and Cook share a starter kit. We flag it rather than choose.

4. The 60 versus the 150. The Chef's Station Blueprint carries its own listed price of 60 Diamonds while the class is 150. No source states what the 60 buys, whether it is a separate purchase, or whether it is stale.

5. Hearty Stew's numbers. Three sources agree it heals about 15 HP and that the Cook's 25% chance is the route to it. One consumable list describes Hearty Stew as +45% hunger and ×5 nutrition with no heal attached. The two descriptions are not compatible.

6. What a Stew restores. Half a hunger bar, or +45% hunger, or a four-fork rating. Those are three encodings of roughly the same idea, but only one of them is a number you can plan with.

7. The Crock Pot's cost. Listed as 15 Wood + 10 Scrap by most sources; the crafting cheat sheet repeats the line as "15 Wood + 10 Scrap + 15 Wood + 10 Scrap," which reads like a duplicated column header rather than 30 Wood and 20 Scrap.

8. Carrot Cake's buff length is consistent, its value is not. All sources agree on roughly 9 minutes of night vision. Whether that is "enormous" or merely good is a disagreement about the player, not the dish.

FAQ

Do I need the Chef class to use the Chef's Station? Yes. The station is class-locked to the Chef, and its blueprint starts in the Chef's inventory.

Can I build it without the other gates? No. The listing adds Base Camp Level 2 and survived 15 nights on top of owning the Chef.

Is the Chef or the Cook better? Different jobs. The Cook is 40, works with a station you already build, and its level-1 perk helps even alone. The Chef is 150, brings a station, and is the only route to the six buffed dishes and the two carryable heals.

Does the Crock Pot beat the Chef's Station? No. The Chef's Station cooks faster, and it is the only thing that can make the Chef-only recipes.

Does seasoning work on raw food? No. It applies to cooked food.

Why is my cooking slow to level? Both classes feed off "food cooked," and pre-cooking raw meat at the campfire is the fastest known shortcut. Auto-cooking loops count only if the Cook or Chef personally places the ingredients.

Can I eat raw meat to save time? You take damage. It roughly doubles in value once cooked, and the damage is not worth the three seconds you save.

What happens to my food if Hard Mode turns on? At the 60% threshold, most stored food rots in about 90 seconds. The kitchen lines stop paying off and foraging takes over.

Sources

Related Pages

Keep Reading

Beastmaster Class in 99 Nights in the Forest — 400 Diamonds, Five Wolves, and the Steak Bill That Comes With Them

What the Beastmaster actually buys for 400 Diamonds: a Good Taming Flute, a Steak-funded summon button and a five-pet cap. Every perk by level with its requirement, how the summon loop works and what your wolves will refuse to hit, the 5,000 and 15,000 damage counters, a Beastmaster versus Zookeeper comparison, and the numbers sources disagree on.

Read more

Big Game Hunter Class in 99 Nights in the Forest — 600 Diamonds, Nine Rows on the Pelt List, and Buffs Only Two Biomes Will Give You

The Big Game Hunter is a 600-Diamond class that trades a weapon for a list: a Pelt List of nine rows you spend pelts and animal parts on inside a single run, from sprint speed and damage to permanent health, and in the Snow and Volcano biomes only, warmth, more damage and a poison chance. Every row, every count, what each level costs, the ammo problem, and the four places the sources fight.

Read more

Cyborg Class in 99 Nights in the Forest — 600 Diamonds, One Laser Cannon, and Two Upgrade Counters Nobody Warns You About

The Cyborg class in 99 Nights in the Forest costs 600 Diamonds for a Laser Cannon and an Alien Armour, better night vision, and a Level 2 alien-tech damage buff. Every perk by level with both upgrade counters behind it, why the Level 3 kill-refund perk fires even when you are not using an alien weapon, what our arithmetic says about the shot pacing, how this class upgrades differently from the 100-Diamond Alien class, and the level-2 heal older guides still describe.

Read more